top of page

Fantasy for Violin and Piano (2019)

Made possible from a 2019 New Works Grant from the Queens Council on the Arts

This work takes Mozart's Violin Sonata in G 

Major (K. 301) as a point of departure.  In two movements like the Mozart, the pitches in the opening violin melody of the Mozart are transposed up a step and used as points of structural arrival in the first movement of this fantasy.

The second movement is a brief, more playful movement, focusing on stepwise motion.   Inspired by the second movemnt of the Mozart.

Douglas Fisk -- Fantasy for Violin and Piano (excerpt)

00:00 / 01:35

Ye-jin Han, violin

Douglas Fisk, piano

score samples

bottom of page